The use, storage, and transportation of hazardous materials in and through the Capitol Region and the recognition of that hazard potential necessitate emergency preparedness and response planning.  The issues of increased protection of life and property are paramount for our communities, region, and state.  The Capitol Region Emergency Planning Committee (CREPC) serves as the Local Emergency Planning Committee for specific named municipalities in accordance with CT General Statute (CGS): Section 22a-601(b).

The Capitol Region Emergency Planning Committee has produced a Hazardous Materials Emergency Response Plan (CR-HMERP) as the LEPC in accordance with the following:
       CGS Section 22a-603 – State Emergency Planning Activities
       40 CFR Part 370 – Tier II Reporting
Comments on the draft Plan should be directed to Carmine Centrella at 860-522-2217, x225 or

The following communities are members of the CREPC-LEPC:
Andover, Avon, Bloomfield, Bolton, Bristol,  Canton,  Coventry,  East Haddam,  East Hampton,  East Hartford,  East Windsor,  Enfield,  Farmington,   Granby,  Hartford,  Manchester, Marlborough, Middletown, Plainville, Portland, Rocky Hill, Somers, South Windsor, Stafford, Suffield, Tolland, West Hartford, Wethersfield, and Windsor Locks.

CREPC-LEPC SPILL OR RELEASE NOTIFICATION –  Chairperson of CREPC in care of the Capitol Region Council of Governments – Ms. Cheryl Assis, Director of Public Safety and Homeland Security – 860-522-2217 ext. 236.